DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES
COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

(EMT-I/EMT-P/MICN)
SUBJECT: TREATMENT/TRANSPORT OF MINORS REFERENCE NO. 832

PURPOSE: To describe the guidelines for treatment and/or transport of a patient under the
age of eighteen.

AUTHORITY: California Family Code 6922, 6926, 6927, 6929(4)b, 7002(a)(b)(c), 7122
DEFINITIONS:

Minor: A person less than eighteen years of age.
Minor not requiring parental consent is a person who:

Has an emergency medical condition and parent is not available

Is married or previously married

Is on active duty in the military

Is 15 years or older, living separate and apart from his/her parents and
managing his/her own financial affairs

Is 12 years or older and in need of care for rape

Is 12 years or older and in need of care for contagious reportable disease
or condition, or for substance abuse

Is an emancipated minor (decreed by court, identification card by DMV)
Is pregnant and requires care related to the pregnancy

Is in need of care for sexual assault

Legal Representative: A person who is granted custody or conservatorship of
another person by a court of law.

Emergency: Condition or situation in which an individual has a need for
immediate medical attention orwhere the potential for need is perceived by EMS
personnel or a public safety agency.

PRINCIPLES:
1. Consent
A. Voluntary Consent: Treatment or transport of a minor child shall be with the

verbal or written consent of the parents or legal representative.

B. Involuntary Consent: In the absence of a parent or legal representative,
emergency treatment and/or transport of a minor may be initiated without
consent.
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SUBJECT: TREATMENT/TRANSPORT OF MINORS REFERENCE NO. 832

PROCEDURES:
l. Treatment/Transport of Minors

A In the absence of a parent or legal representative, minors with an emergency
condition shall be treated and transported to the health facility most appropriate to
the needs of the patient (e.g. EDAP, PTC, PMC, Trauma Center, etc.)

B. Hospital or provider agency personnel shall make every effort to inform a parent -
or legal representative where their child has been transported.

C. If prehospital care personnel believe a parent or other legal representative of a
minor is making a decision which appears to be endangering the health and
welfare of the minor by refusing indicated immediate care or transport, law
enforcement authorities should be involved.

1. Minors Not Requiring Transport

A. A minor child (excluding children < twelve (12) months of age) who is evaluated
by EMS personnel and determined not to be injured, to have sustained only minor
injuries, or to have illnesses or injuries not requiring immediate treatment or
transportation, may be released to:

1. Self (consideration should be given to age, maturity, environment and
other factors that may be pertinent to the situation)

2. Parent or legal representative
3. A responsible adult at the scene.
4. Designated care giver
B, Law enforcement
B. Children < 36 months of age require base hospital contact and/or transport in

accordance with Reference No. 808.

C Prehospital care personnel shall document on the EMS Report Form to whom the
patient was released.

CROSS REFERENCE:

Prehospital Care Policy Manual

Ref. No. 808, Base Contact and Transport Criteria

Ref. No. 822, Suspected Child Abuse Reporting Guidelines
Ref. No. 834, Patient Refusal of Treatment or Transport

California Association of Hospitals and Health Systems Consent Manual
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